mojito cupcakes

My friend and I decided to throw a little fiesta Friday night. I decided to bake some more over 21 cupcakes for the occasion. I felt mojitos fitting since they are one of Sarah’s favorite mixed drinks. Recipe (thanks to cream puffs in Venice) was pretty easy. I added some lime zest to the batter to switch it up a little. Cakes were delicious. Made a rum/lime/mint buttercream frosting instead of cream cheese (so not a fan of cream cheese frosting) similar to that of the car bomb frosting(1 stick butter 3-4 cups confectioner’s sugar added tablespoon at a time). Added a few table spoons of rum, half a lime of juice and some mint extract. Really it was all guess and check til it tasted right. When I make these again I’m going to add minced mint to the batter rather than zest and more sprigs of mint to the syrup. Either way they were delicious and a huge hit.

One thought on “mojito cupcakes

Leave a Reply

