Custom Up my Buttons Baby

You are ALL welcome for getting that award winning song in your head. (Obnoxiously catchy pop music by sexually suggestive named groups anyone?)

In an upcoming post I’ll be divulging you all with my first ever recovered furniture piece. A tufted upholstered bench that lives at the foot of our bed. A bench, I might add, that was plucked from the garbage. Got to love free.

The first (and easiest) step of recovering the garbage picked bench was creating covered buttons to match the new fabric. A quick trip to Joann’s landed me a pack of buttons for covering complete with the covering tools. I believe the kit cost $4 for 10 buttons.

Directions found on the back of the box were very straight forward. First use the fabric template to trace the pattern onto the desired fabric. Step 2, cut around the traced circle.

Step 3 assemble the fabric, button, button back, and circle tool for hammering, then hammer the set up into place. I found it was easiest to kind of push everything together by hand just enough so it stayed in place and then hammer it in for good.

After a few good taps remove the freshly made button from the assembly, give it a push or two for good measure and get pumped that you have made custom fabric covered buttons in no time flat.

4 thoughts on “Custom Up my Buttons Baby

  1. Your posts are reminding me more and more of Young House Love. Me no likey. Stop being so crafty! I’m getting jealous again! haha I love our competitiveness with one another šŸ™‚ I MISS YOU!

    • I couldn’t resist that one. And I am not as obnoxious as they are with 50 posts relating to every minute step of 1 project. With a bazillion in progress pictures. And I don’t make pop culture references every other word. Just once, because I couldn’t help myself. GET CRAFTING BIOTCH!! I miss you too! 1 week til I have a new wedding to blog about šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

