Pear-fict Mini Rustic Tarts

One of my new years resolutions is to tackle (and maybe master) rustic tarts. I’m talking ground up. From that amazing crumbly buttery crust to the delectable filling.

My first attempt of the year was a rustic bourbon pear tart. If anyone is craving some pure earthy rustic goodness (with a little smokey bourbon kick) make this today.

rustic-burbon-pear-tart

As for my first attempt at a tart crust I was pleasantly surprised. It wasn’t perfect, but I wasn’t that far from my goal of tart crust heaven. The recipe (CRUST ONLY) was thanks to Sweet Fine Day. I will confess I have never made scratch crust before. The horror stories of the complication of a pie crust left me running for the refrigerator section poking that famous giggling dough boy.  Unfortunately our favorite sugar-rushed cartoon doesn’t make the crumbly, heavenly crust I’m determined to master. As far as I know scratch is the only way to go.  Do not be afraid to try this recipe. If you can manage your way around a typical scratch recipe you can handle this.

rustic-burbon-pear-tart6

As for the filling, I found this absolutely scrumptious rustic bourbon pear filling thanks to Design Sponge (FILLING ONLY).
For those that know me I doubled the bourbon, other than that minor change follow the directions as listed. Assemble the pie (lay out the pear slices pretty if you feel so inclined) bake as directed and enjoy a pure rustic symphony of flavor. These tarts actually get better a day or 2 after baking. The flavors really meld and intensify making for a truly earthy treat.

rustic-burbon-pear-tart4

rustic-burbon-pear-tart2

Leave a Reply

