Sochi Inspired Doodle Stich

It’s that time of year again folks! That magical time every 2 years when all standard programming stops and the Olympics take over my life. This year was no exception complete with opening ceremony party and some down time crafting.

Although I’m technically classified as a mutt…aka American… (basically name the country and it turns up somewhere in my heritage) My father’s side is straight forward Polish and Russian. With the games being in Russia the little Russian babushka in me got excited. My absolute favorite part of these games was the matryoshka doll set up on the slope style course. I ignored every jump every athlete completed near that babushka and would simply giggle with glee at the sight of her ready to hit the slopes, ski goggles and all.

https://i2.wp.com/media2.s-nbcnews.com/j/streams/2014/February/140206/2D11530955-today-sochi-7-reasons-140206-02.blocks_desktop_medium.jpg

Seriously though, how great is she? Photo courtesy of Sergei Grits / AP

While watching the games, and admiring the Russian heritage I know little about, I became inspired to complete an embroidery of my own matryoshka doll.

matryoshka-doll-embroidery

I am very happy on how well she turned out. Looking forward to creating a mini series of sorts of a couple of dolls with varying patterns and styles. At the minimum my two sisters are already asking when they get one. So expect a 3 doll series, minimum.

matryoshka-doll-embroidery2

babushka-doll-embroidery

lazy-daisy-detail

babushka-doll-embroidery2

Did you all watch the Olympics? Get inspired to do anything crafty thanks to Russia? Let me know!

2 thoughts on “Sochi Inspired Doodle Stich

Leave a Reply

